A Brief History

The provinceĀ“s name is derived from the Tagalog word kawit, meaning "hook", which refers to the shape of the peninsula. This place was a port of Spanish vessels, including the galleons from Mexico. In 1614, Cavite was created as a politico-military province. In 1872, a mutiny at the Cavite arsenal implicated three Filipino priests: Jose Burgos, Mariano Gomez and Jacinto Zamora, who were subsequently executed by the garrote. Cavite was a center of military operations during the Philippine Revolution of 1896. The Spaniards executed 13 Filipino revolutionaries in Cavite City that year: the provincial capital is now named after them "Trece Martires City". On June 12, 1898, General Emilio Aguinaldo proclaimed Philippine independence from his residence in Kawit. Bacoor became the capital until the seat of government was transferred to Malolos, Bulacan. A civil government was established by the Americans in Cavite in 1901, with Cavite City as provincial capital. Trece Martires City became the capital upon its creation in 1954.